The 15 Day Rule
If you have been charged with DWI/DUI in Texas, you are subject to the "15 day rule." This means that, per state law, you have 15 days after your arrest to request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. If you fail to request the hearing within the 15 days, your license is automatically suspended. The ALR hearing is extremely technical, and it is essential that if you need an ALR hearing you immediately contact a DWI defense lawyer for knowledgeable legal defense. The Martinez Law Firm has over 15 years of experience helping clients request ALR hearings, prepare for them, and keep their driving privileges.
The 15 day rule would apply if:
- You took a breath, blood or urine test and your blood alcohol concentration was above .08%.
- You refused the tests.
- You were under 21 at the time of the stop, and were found to have a BAC of .02% or higher.
- You offered to take the test and the police officer is claiming that you refused.
- You were driving under a commercial license with a BAC of .04% or higher.
Following a DWI Arrest
Just because you were arrested for DWI does not mean you will be convicted. It also does not necessarily mean you will lose your license. Our firm has many years of experience in successfully defending numerous DWI cases. We thoroughly understand DWI defense, and the ALR hearing process. We have been awarded "Houston Top Lawyer" by H Texas Magazine for the past three years, and have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. We are ethical, aggressive, and dedicated to upholding your right to effective defense against DWI charges.