Driver's License Surcharges
When a driver is convicted with DWI, he or she faces three years of driver's license surcharges related to the drunk driving conviction. Many people are not aware that the state subjects individuals to these steep fines. If you have been charged with DWI, you need to know that you face jail time, probation and other punishments and you also face three years of financial punishment for this crime.
The surcharges added to your Texas driver's license are of the following schedule:
- DWI – $1,000 annual fee
- Second DWI – $1,500 annual fee
- Third DWI – $2,000 annual fee
- DWI with BAC Over 0.16 Percent - $2,000 annual fee
For second and subsequent DWI charges, these will be tacked on in addition to the surcharge for any previous convictions that you might have if you are still paying. For this reason, if you have been charged with drunk driving in Texas, it would benefit your case to speak with an experienced lawyer. With competent representation, you can fight your charges and maximize your chances of having your case dismissed.
Avoiding Costly Penalties
Many people make the mistake of ignoring their DWI charge and thinking that it's "no big deal." If you are forced to spend time in jail, pay fines and lose your license – that is a pretty big deal that could change your life drastically. At our firm, we have devoted our practice to DWI defense in Texas. We can help you no matter what your case entails.
We know how difficult it can be to face criminal charges and are here to assist you. When you are looking for a DWI defense, you will want to know that your attorney has experience and is very familiar with DWI law in Texas. Our lawyers have been successfully handling DWI cases since 1999. Don't risk having to pay thousands of dollars in fines.